CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

DBA CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

85th ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS • MAY 1, 2025

The 85th Annual Meeting of the Members of Carteret-Craven Electric Membership Corporation (CCEMC) was held Thursday, May 1, 2025, at Glad Tidings Church, Country Club Road, Morehead City, NC. Registration opened at 4:30 p.m. and member activities included displays and demonstrations, the Carteret-Craven Electric Foundation and food service. The Morehead City Middle School Jazz Band and the Havelock High School Vocal Ensemble provided entertainment prior to the business meeting.

President Amy Lock called the business meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The invocation was given by Glad Tidings Church Pastor Tim Marriner. West Carteret High School NJROTC presented the colors, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. The National Anthem was performed by the Havelock High School Vocal Ensemble.

President Lock introduced program participants and the CCEMC Board of Directors. Members Patricia Dale and Robert Cox were recognized as chairs of this year's Nominating Committee and Credentials and Elections Committee respectively. CCEMC Foundation members were introduced and thanked for their service to the cooperative and the community. Also in attendance were Kristie Aldridge, COO, North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives (NCAEC); Charlie Bayless, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation (NCEMC); Charlie Ferrell, Manager of Business Strategy, NCEMC; John Hellman, Director, Marketing and Technical Services, Tarheel Electric Membership Association (TEMA); and Scott Gates, Senior Editor, Carolina Country.

President Lock highlighted information from the 2024 financial statement regarding revenues and expenses, new services, miles of line and the return of \$2.75 million in capital credits.

Secretary West reported that 521 members had registered for the meeting, which constituted a quorum of members for conducting the meeting.

Secretary West announced that the minutes of the 2024 Annual Meeting were mailed to the members in the May edition of Member News. He made a motion that the minutes be approved as written. The motion was duly seconded and carried.

Robert Cox, chair of the Credentials and Elections Committee, declared the registration closed.

CEO Jacob Joplin introduced the Carteret Craven Foundation scholarship winners. Leigh Ann Jones, Billing Manager and Foundation Liaison, presented plaques to the scholarship recipients in attendance: Lilly Alvir, Sophia Uhlmann, Abby Cruz, Calvin Jackson, and Emma Garcy. Joplin introduced this year's Youth Tour participants: Cooper Bass and Sofia Biedenbach. CCEMC Communications Director Melissa Glenn presented awards to this year's Touchstone Sports Scholarship recipients Wyatt Griggs and Amber Guilianelle. Joplin then announced the recipient of the Daniel Gooch Memorial UNC Basketball Scholarship: Quinn Meacham.

CEO Joplin shared highlights of 2024, as well as an overview of the co-op's current activities including the Connect My Thermostat and Beat the Peak programs. The meeting included a video highlighting the co-op's High School Line Technician camp.

Cooperative Attorney James Norment was made acting chairperson of the meeting. Attorney Norment asked the Secretary to read the Official Notice of the Meeting and attest to its mailing. A motion was duly made, seconded, and carried, to dispense with the reading of the notice. He

explained the election process, including the functions of the Credentials and Elections Committee and the Nominating Committee.

Patricia Dale, chair of the Nominating Committee, was recognized to present the report of the Committee. Other committee members were Ann Schmucker, Andy Smith, Dody O'Brien, Sandra Farrell, and Karen Willis. The nominees for each district were: District 2, Ben Ball; District 5, Amy Lock; and District 8, Thom Styron.

Secretary West cast one ballot for each of the uncontested nominees. Attorney Norment declared the ballots properly cast and referred to the Credentials and Elections Committee for final certification. The election being concluded, he relinquished the chair to President Lock.

There being no further business, President Lock adjourned the meeting at 7:30 p.m.

Cooperative employee Shanon Harris announced the winner of the Relay for Life 50/50 raffle. Prizes of six months of electricity, a pickup truck, and cash were awarded by cooperative employees.